wolf prize

Since 1978, five or six prizes have been awarded annually in the Sciences. Prize fields comprise: AGRICULTURE, CHEMISTRY, MATHEMATICS, MEDICINE and PHYSICS. In the Arts, the prize rotates annually among ARCHITECTURE, MUSIC, PAINTING and SCULPTURE.

The prize in each field consists of a certificate and a monetary award of $100,000. In the event of two or three recipients sharing the prize, the honorarium is divided equally.

International prize committees in each field, comprising renowned experts, select the Wolf Prize winners. Prize committees are appointed every year. Committee proceedings, minutes and recommendations are kept confidential, except for the recipients’ prize rationale.

Committee decisions are final and irrevocable.

To date, a total of 311 scientists and artists from 23 countries have been honored.

Laureates receive their awards from the President of the State of Israel. The prize presentation takes place at a special ceremony at the Knesset Building (Israel´s Parliament), in Jerusalem.

To the photo album press here

To Wolf prize 2015 events  press here